Weeks 68 & 69 ~ Almost died, but I’m good

Hey Everyone!

Well geez. This last week was ANYTHING but normal.  I’ll start from the beginning.  Two Fridays ago I started to feel really sick.  I got really nauseous and even threw up.  So I laid down for a couple hours while we didn’t have appointments and then we went back out to work that evening.  Saturday morning rolls around and I still am not feeling too hot (Started to have super bad stomach pains on top of the nausea), but we had 8 appointments set so I was just like, “NOT TODAY SATAN”.  We went out and worked hard the whole day, which is good because we found a really cool investigator named Aleeka! Blessings!  But by the time we got in for the night I could hardly stand up straight because I was in so much pain.  That whole night I didn’t sleep and spent the night throwing up.
Sunday morning I finally called Sister Egbert and told her I was sick.  Her and President were coming down to church in San Fernando so they stopped by with soups, medicine, sprite, and apple sauce :,)  They are the best.  Sister Xavier had a migraine so she stayed in with me the whole day while our companions went out together.  Monday morning we went to the doctor down in Sando.  (We usually go to the doctors on the north side of the island, but neither of us could drive so we went to the south hospital)  We had some doctor from India… THIS GUY!  He took THREE hours to see us and when he did he took my temperature, asked me a few questions and said, “well you are sick.”  NO DUH!!  hahah.  By monday night my stomache pain was so bad that I was blacking out.  President called me and asked me to describe the pain and I said, “Well, I don’t know what a contraction feels like but I assume it’s something like this.”  President:  “Well, that better not be the problem Sister Kimball!” hahahah. 😂  Long story short, they ended up driving down south at 11 pm to get me and took me to the hospital on the north side.  I was hospitalized for 2 days.  I had lots of Nigerian and Indian doctors inspecting me throughout those two days and lots of pain killers that they gave me through an IV that made my whole arm burn.  I didn’t sleep or eat for 4 days.  So basically last week was a nightmare!  They think I had either food poisoning or just a really bad stomach virus.  But all is well now and I am back on my feet working 🙂  I stayed a few days with the Egbert’s and mostly just slept. They took good care of me.  They are literally the most amazing mission parents!
One of the many things I took away from this experience is how important kneeling prayer and reading our scriptures is.  I didn’t do either of those things for about 2 days because of how sick I was (which really isn’t an excuse).  Between that and being completely thrown out o my normal schedule, I honestly felt so off!  When I finally got to go back down to my apartment, not only did I feel so physically weak, but I felt spiritually weak as well and it was really hard.  But as soon as soon as I read from the Book of Mormon and asked Heavenly Father to help me “get back in the game”,  I immediately felt so much better.  I know the book is true and I know Heavenly Father hears our prayers.  I’ve learned on my mission that it really is the little things that make such a big difference in our relationship with our Heavenly Father.
So I don’t have much to update about the area or investigators because we didn’t get to teach much but hopefully this week we will be able to see lots of miracles!  I am in a trio right now with Sister Skinner and Sister Montenegro due to Sister Xavier having eye problems and not being able to drive.  So we are covering two areas right now… pleasantville and Marabella!  It should be fun because I served more than half my mission in Marabella so I get to go back and see everyone!
Anywho, crazy week.  But all is well.  God is good.
Love you all!

Sister Kimball 

IMG_0479
Sister Skinner took this of me at 3 am hahah.  I was so drugged up that I looked at her and said, “Did you just take a picture of me dying?” and she said, “Well, you said you need to start documenting your mission more.” hahaha…. I love Sister Skinner.
IMG_0482Beautiful Trinidad
IMG_0489Brother Benjamin and Brother Gene… every missionaries dream… a convert fellowshipping another convert 🙂
Leave a Reply

