Week 54 ~ Happy Easter

Hello Everyone! 

This week has been great.  Other than I have been sicker than a dog.  So excuse if I seem pretty out of it for this email because I am pretty drugged up and exhausted because I haven’t been able to sleep much this week. 

First off, HAPPY EASTER!  Here in Trinidad, Easter is a 5 day holiday.  That’s why I wasn’t able to email yesterday.  Everything was shut down. 

This week was so fun because I got to be with my greenie named Sister Woodbury 🙂 She is such an awesome missionary!  It felt like she came pre-trained haha.  I think I learned more from her that she did from me.  She was called English, but last minute got her language changed to Spanish.  So she just came from the Dominican Repulic MTC.  And she came with a nasty head cold so that is why I got sick.🙃  All is well though.  We just took a lot of cold medicine and were still able to go out and work.  Although both of our voices were gone so that was a challenge.  Especially calling into peoples houses hahahah. I honestly sound like a man. 😂  

Sister Woodbury’s MTC companion went with Sister Jenkins and we split our area in half. It’s been super fun.  Sister Jenkins and Sister Burrup were in the downstairs apartment that has been empty for awhile.  We would get together for 12 week training and have group role plays which was a blast.  It’s been really nice to blitz our area because we have been able to find like crazy.  We found some really awesome people!  One in particular… Allen.  Allen is an older man that totally looks like a rasta.  He has one giant dread down to the ground.  It’s pretty nasty honestly.  We called into his house and he let us into his gallery to teach him.  I for sure thought he was going to start going off about God being a lion and Bob Marley and all that.  But he actually is Christian and is really really smart.  The next time we came back he had read the whole tract and he even knew who Aaron and Melchizedek are and completely understand what the Priesthood is!  He’s a gem.   

Even though I am sad that Sister Woodbury had to leave me so soon (took her to the airport this morning), I have some super exciting news.  Remember my friend from up north named Rebeka?  Yeah she is my new companion!!!  She is visa waiting here until she gets her papers cleared to go to Jamaica.  I am so excited!!!  When I was up north and was her missionary I always told her that she was going to visa wait and I was going to train her hahaha and now it is actually happening! 

We had zone conference this week and it was all on the Gathering of Israel. Whenever I feel the spirit really strongly I get a headache (its’s a real thing, I promise haha) and I definitely had a spiritual headache after ZC.  I love being a missionary and being a part of God’s work.  It feels so good to be a part of something so important.  President and Sister Egbert invited all the locals that have there mission calls to Trinidad.  It was really cool to have them there.  I am excited to see what happens with Trinidad in the next few months. We had a leadership meeting right before zone conference and president told me and the other elders there that will be going home with me that we are going to play a big role in the transition of Trinidad becoming a “local missionaries” mission.  I am excited!  I trust God and know that He has a plan. 

Love you all so much!  I hope you all had a wonderful Easter and remembered the true meaning of why we celebrate. 

Sister Kimball 

Leave a Reply

