Week 39 ~ Called to Kill

*Let me explain, “Called to Kill”.  If you are the last companion of a missionary that is going home, then you “Kill” them.  #missionarylingo 

Dear Family, 

I think one of the best feelings as a missionary is working so hard that you literally fall asleep on your knees as you are praying.  This week that has happened almost every night. I would say “amen” and then I would fall asleep, and eventually wake up at midnight and crawl into bed.  Sister Montenegro and I have been starting form ground zero because all of our investigators were baptized, which is obviously a great thing!  But now we are just trying to find more people that are prepared!  We have been contacting for hours on end this week in the hot Trini sun and I LOVE IT.  We have met some amazing people.  (and some crazy ones;)  I am excited for this week because we will be able to meet with them and share the Gospel with them:) 

Sister Montenegro is leaving me tomorrow!  The government has yet to give her her work permit. So I am taking her to the airport at 3 am tomorrow morning and then I will be waiting up north with another sister until my new companion, Sister Buckhave, she is coming in from Aruba. This is also her last transfer!  She is having some health issues so President wants her to come into Trindad. I am excited! She is a really awesome missionary. But I am super sad to leave my lil’ Peruvian.

This week I have been doing a lot of thinking about the Atonement of our Savior. I have been reading The Infinite Atonement and there was a quote that really touched my heart:

 “One may search the world in vain, he may scour the journals of thought, he may toy with the philosophies of men, but eventually he will learn that there is no hope, no lasting peace outside of Jesus Christ.  The Atoning sacrafice of Christ, and our full acceptance of it, is the spiritual antidote that replaces despair with hope, darkness with light, and turmoil with peace.” 

I’ve learned a lot about the Atonement on my mission.  I think the most important thing that I have come to know is that there is no other way to find true joy.  I am on an island thousands of miles away from my family and friends and worldly things that I thought I would really miss, yet…  I have never been so happy in my whole life.  And I know that it is because of the Savior and the opportunity I have to spread His Gospel.  He lives and He is oh so good.  As we come closer to our Savior, we find true joy, a sense of belonging, and a love that we didn’t even know was possible.  We find ourselves, because we slowly become who He wants us to be. 

The Gospel is True. 

I love you all!  Thank you for everything and the prayers.  I feel them everyday! 

Sister Kimball 

p1220726

She likes my glasses:)

p1220740

Everywhere!

P1220730.JPG

They love the simple things…being together.

Leave a Reply

