Weeks 34 & 35 ~ Miracles & Scary Dogs!

Hello Everyone! 

Sister Paul and I were sick with some weird flu and I had to go to the doctor for migraine issues… so we somewhat, had a slow week.  But eventually we had a break down from being inside (it was only half a day….. but we just wanted to work😅), so we went out and worked even though we were told to stay inside…. worth it.  We found some really prepared people!!  We found 3 single moms, all of them are seriously so prepared and we had super spiritual lessons with them.  Goes to show that if you work hard, haha, even when you are sick, God blesses.

We saw so many miracles!  One of my favorites was with an investigator named Esha.  Esha is 16 and has been taking the lessons since August… but her family is devout Hindu so her mother wouldn’t give her permission to be baptized.  But since August she has been to church every week and living the commandments.  Last week we decided to start something called “The Esha Project”.  We started with a fast and gave Esha 3 challenges for the month of December:  

1.  Read the BOM every single day.

2.  Talk to someone everyday about Jesus Christ.

3.  Write her mother a letter about why she wants to join the church.

We went to see her at the beginning of this week to follow up and when we got there, she just handed a notebook and said, “open it”.  When we opened it, inside was the parent consent paper.. SIGNED!  We all started screaming haha.  It was a huge miracle and we know it was all because Esha had faith.  Man, I love missionary work.  You get a front row seat to seeing people find true joy. 

Another miracle… Benjamin.  Most prepared man I have ever met.  I’ve talked about him before but just to review…he grew up in Guyana and didn’t get much of an education.  So we have to go really slow with him.  But the Spirit truly is preparing him for his baptismal date… December 17th.  We taught him about the Sabbath Day this week and he said “Yeah, the last 2 weeks after I have left church I was planning on going to work, but something told me to go home and spend time with my kids instead”.  One thing I have learned from teaching Benjamin is how the Spirit is truly the teacher.  It has nothing to do with what us as missionaries do.  We are just a tool in God’s hands. 

Funny story of the week… We were at a members house, Brother Mendoza, who is in his 80’s.  He has a big scary dog that tries to attack us ever time so he gets a long stick and protects us until we can get up the stairs to the gallery… well, when we were walking back down to the car I took the stick from Brother Mendoza and said, “I got this Brother Mendoza” … Yeah no, the dog came at me and my companions so we all were screaming “BROTHER MENDOZA” and hid behind him… hahaha an 80 year old man can protect me and my companions better than I can!  But then again… the dogs here are vicious. 

That’s all for this week!  Love you all.  Have a good week 🙂  Thanks for all that sent me pics of Kimball’s blessing!  He is an angel!

Sister Kimball

dsc07262
ESHA
dsc07284
Benjamin
dsc07289
Tracting with Sister Paul
dsc07297
Sarah Lee and her baby, Jaseon 🙂
dsc07305
I’m taking one home with me 😉

dsc07323dsc07335dsc07359

dsc07360
The cutest kids…
dsc07374
…they love my blonde hair.

dsc07389

dsc07257
When I was sick…I moved the couch into the kitchen by our study table so I could still weekly plan…hahaha. I was half asleep tho.
Leave a Reply

