Week 22 ~ Easting Fresh Coconut & Jungle Downpours!

Wow.  This week was craziness!  This week I got my new companion, Sister Masciantoni… She is super quiet, but a super good missionary!  I only had her for about a day when President Egbert asked us to do an exchange for 3 days so that I could teach a Sister that just came in from the Islands how to drive here…. and I had only been driving for 2 days! hahaha But she has now learned how to drive here in crazy Trinidad and we both survived the 3 days. God provides. 

This week was probably the most stressful week of my mission thus far, but the most rewarding! Gerald’s baptism was on Saturday!  After the stress of organizing the whole thing, it was so great:)  I am so happy for him and his cute little family.  Right after the baptism all of the missionaries in our zone met for a service project for Antonia and Trevon.  We were going to the property where they are going to build a board house to wacker it down and cut back trees and such.  I love Trevon so much, but wow, HE WAS SO FRUSTRATING TO WORK WITH.  hahaha Literally I was on the phone with him at least 5 times a day for the whole week leading up to this.  And then when we got there he forgot all the tools except the wacker.  So we had one weed wacker and 8 missionaries…. so we went around to the neighbors and since Trini’s are literally the kindest people ever, we got some machetes, rakes, and shovels!  And then we got to work!  It was honestly so much fun!  It down poured on us which made it even better. hahaha.  Then some Trinis came over to us, climbed a tree, got some coconuts and cut them open for us to drink and eat them.  Delicious.  Oh and then I caught a snake.

Last weekend we contacted into a lady named Veronica.  We yelled into her gate and as usual she came out with the look on her face like “What are these whiteys doing at my house?”  But she let us share a scripture with her and then she just paused and said “I’ve really been looking for a way to grow closer to Christ… can you come tomorrow?”  So the next day we went and did a ‘How to begin teaching’ which is basically getting to know the person and there religious background and then we teach about God. WOW it was the most spiritual ‘How to begin teaching’ I have ever had!  She told us that her husband passed away just a few months ago from a car accident and since then she really wants to know what happens after this life.  THE SPIRIT WAS SO STRONG.  And then she came to church THE NEXT DAY.  It’s so hard to get people to church, but she came as fast as she could and even came 40 minutes early!  And it’s a 45 minutes travel from her house!  We had a lesson with her last night and she accepted a baptismal date for October 1st. She is so prepared.  I didn’t know it was possible to love someone so much but wow, I barely know her and I care about her so much.  Missionary work is amazing.  Oh also she invited us over this week for indian food…… blessings from on high, my friends. 

This week was probably the most challenging of my mission so far.  Homesickness hit for the first time and it was an extremely stressful week. But honestly, I would never give up having the opportunity to be a missionary.  Serving a mission is the best decision I have ever made. Mission life if FULL of challenges, but that’s why missions are so amazing.  I am finally figuring out who God wants me to be and my testimony has strengthened more than I thought possible.  The quote that goes something along the lines of “This church must be true, otherwise the missionaries would have destroyed it long ago” is so true. Literally everyday I feel like I have no idea what I am doing, hahaha but God always carries me through and keeps the work going. This Gospel is true! 

Love you all! 

Sister Kimball 

IMG_0026
The Perkins Family :,)
IMG_0037
My home girl, Antonia
IMG_0045
Service Squade
IMG_0043
Eating some coconut straight from a tree…My piece kinda looked like Trinidad. I love my life.
IMG_0049
I CAUGHT A SNAKE IN THE JUNGLE

IMG_0052

IMG_0063
Cute lady who let us borrow the rakes for the service project. See, I told you. Trinis are the happiest people I know!
IMG_0068
This is literally a 2-way road…WHAT THE…
Leave a Reply

