Week 4 ~ Fort Collins, CO ~ The British Are Coming!

This week was much more overwhelming than the week I entered the MTC!! But it’s been so great. Last Monday night me and all my roommates were Leaving at different times of the night so I didn’t get a wink of sleep. I left at 4:30 a.m. The group I was with was the elders and sisters going to the Fort Collins mission and the twin falls mission. Plus me, Caden, and another visa waiter going to Samoa. We were all scattered on the plane and it felt so weird to be sitting alone and not having sister Tui right next to me! I was so tired though that I was knocked out before we even took off haha! Next thing I knew, everyone was getting up and getting their stuff out of the over head bins. ๐Ÿ˜‚

When we got off the plane we met the mission president and his wife! President and sister Brown. I’ll be honest, they kind of terrified me the first day. President Brown is super strict and intimidating. But later that night when I had my interview with him he explained that why he is so strict is because he knows that the rules keep us safe and have better success as missionaries. Apparently before he came to the mission, it was a very disobedient mission. But he’s cracked the whip so now its a very successful mission. So he obviously knows what he’s doing.

Tuesday was mostly just filled with orientation. Nothing exciting. Later that night we had a fireside type thing with some recent converts. It was so awesome! They sat and told us their stories. One was a family that took the discussions for 8 years!! They were the cutest family and I’m pretty sure their 14 year old daughter knows the more about the gospel than I do.

The next day we met our trainers! My trainer, Sister Robinson, grew up in east London so she has an awesome accent!! (Hence the subject line) I love her accent so much. Me and Katie always talked in English accents (not really sure why haha) and so when I am with sister Robinson, which is 24/7, I sometimes catch myself talking with an accent hahaha. Don’t worry, I gave her for warning that that might happen. She is so great!! I am so happy I was blessed with a great trainer! She makes everything fun and we had a really great first week. Apparently before Sister Robinson, this area was basically dead. But her and her last companion helped with the first baptism in Berthoud in 2.5 years! We have so much work to do and our schedule is always packed! We have about 10 investigators and a bunch of less actives that we are working with. We were able to get into 2 homes this week that haven’t been letting the missionaries in for months AND we got another appointment with them for this week! It was a huge miracle. (We bribed them with homemade cookies.)

We live with a couple from our ward named the Huffs. I thought that living with another family would be way weird but I love them so much, they are so great!! All their kids are out of the house so we are basically their kids now lol. They are some of the funniest people I know. They own a movie theatre cleaning company so their house is filled with all sorts of interesting props like giant Alvin and the chipmunk characters haha they are interesting people and I love them so much! I like living with members because coming home at night kind of feels like coming home to a family!

We visited a less active couple on Thursday named the Mangeris. And guess what! Sister Mangeris taught us how to “worship hula” and it was so fun hahahah basically it’s hula dancing to songs about Jesus.๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿฝ She is a 72 year old frail lady and she is giving us dance lessons!๐Ÿ˜‚ I would send the video we took but Sister Mangeris says we aren’t good enough to send home and also we have to be in our “worship hula costumes” that she is making for us hahahah (don’t worry, they will be missionary versions of hula outfits lol) After our worship hula sesh, we had a really good discussion about the Godhead and was able to clear up a lot of confusion that she had which was great ๐Ÿ™‚ Her and her husband came to church this week so that was awesome! they are the cutest couple.

One of my favorite things we do is visiting sister Morris. Sister Morris is completely active but she was never married and suffers from night terrors. So we go visit her before she goes to bed to keep her company and share a spiritual thought because it helps her sleep. She is such a sweet and humble lady and has taught me so much already! Plus she has a really cute dog that snuggles up to me every time :’)

I have loved Colorado so far! I have been able to tract in sketchy trailer parks, meet big tattooed Navajo men, teach a man that looks like Santa Claus, try chicken and waffles, play intense bingo with old people, be told Mormons aren’t Christians and don’t believe in Jesus, topple over on a bike that is three inches too tall for me (in public), and break teaching records with Sister Robinson! And I’ve loved every second of it.

I love you all! Remember to pray always, it will make a huge difference in your life. It has mine!

Peace and blessings ๐Ÿค˜๐ŸผโœŒ๐Ÿผ
Sister Kimball

Ps. 2138 Elmwood street Bethoud Colorado 80153 is my address for letters!

image7
Last Picture with my District in the MTC:)
image1
Introducing….Sister Robinson, My Trainer! She’s from East London. ย Hence, The British Are Coming!! And she’s AWESOME!!!
image4
Latest Investigators! ย  Mom, “I love how she’s in her jammies and still has her tag on!”
Leave a Reply

